Kris Baker wrote:
> <palmer.william RemoveThis @sbcglobal.net> wrote in message
> news:1144205343.971353.267640@u72g2000cwu.googlegroups.com...
> >
> > Giltedge04 RemoveThis @aol.com wrote:
> >> Kris Baker wrote:
> >>
> >> > Please (also) apologize in the other non-commercial groups
> >> > you spammed. Clever titles, "trying to be helpful" don't
> >> > make it NOT spam.
> >> >
> >> > Kris
> >>
> >> Just lighten up will you, his apology is genuine and treat it as such.
> >> He is a well known figure in UK book circles and has been publishing
> >> book price guides and CD Roms for many years.
> >
> > I think we must be talking about two
> > different people here. The original
> > post in no way seems to emanate
> > from the distinguished personage
> > you describe above. There are
> > several reasons for my concluding
> > that, but two of them are enough
> > to make my point:
>
> There's another one: the ID in question has posted
> nothing *but* spam to Usenet, since 1996. Would
> that be the habit of the person being defended?
>
> He's also "apologized" to other groups...but kept
> on spamming.
Funny. Do I dectect more than
a bit of envy because my sincere
writing efforts have resulted in my
becoming one of the net's best
known writers? I did not achieve
that by "spamming," but by
entertaining, amusing and
informing readers with on-topic
articles, not with mean-spirited
attacks like your vicious
side-swipe.
If you can set your bundle
of horsefeathers aside for a moment,
I might remind you that we have a
very serious matter here.
We have a poster -- allegedly a
well-known figure in UK book circles --
who has been spamming an ad
around the net. On top of that,
the "ad" is incredibly amateurish.
The actual poster does not even
seem to realize that a very
rudimentary principle of listing
books for sale holds that the latest
copyright date is always included.
On top of that, readers of that
post are favored with "literary
sentiments" not quite worthy of
a "B" eighth-grade English student.
Now, it seems to me we have a
deepeingt mystery here. We could
be dealing a case of fraud, actkual or
attempted. Perhaps someone is
using the name of the "well-known
UK bookseller" to give readers a
false sense of confidence in the
solicitation. In fact, the more
I consider the matter, the more
inconceivable to me it becomes
that someone well-known in
UK book circles would be capable
of posting of any such shabby
come-on. The violation of basic
bookselling customs complemented
horribly, with the trite, purile literary
pontifications combine in sinister
fashion to demand that any
intelligent reader of this forum
suspect (if not CONCLUDE) that
something is terribly amiss about
that posting.
Taking vicious sideswipes at me for
pointing out glaring tell-tale signs
which other posters missed in
their sillly posted babble does not
alter the situation at all, and in
fact only makes Sideswiper
Kris look like a PEEVISH PEST driven
though envy to annoy others to get
attention -- in orther words, like a troll.
[memo from the upstairs office]
>
> Kris >> Stay informed about: An apology