Welcome to BookBoardz.com!
FAQFAQ   SearchSearch      ProfileProfile    Private MessagesPrivate Messages   Log in/Register/PasswordLog in/Register/Password

virus alert - "Weeeeee! :)))" claiming to come from Ash Tree

 
   Book Forums (Home) -> Fiction -> Ghost Fiction RSS
Author Message
kennett1

External


Since: Dec 20, 2004
Posts: 10



(Msg. 1) Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 1:19 am
Post subject: virus alert - "Weeeeee! :)))" claiming to come from Ash Tree
Archived from groups: alt>books>ghost-fiction (more info?)

I've just received an attachment claiming to come from Ash Tree Press
which contains the virus W32.Beagle@mm!zip -- at least that was what my
anti virus system called it. Its header is "Weeeeee! Smile))"

Rick

 >> Stay informed about: virus alert - "Weeeeee! :)))" claiming to come from Ash Tree 
Back to top
Login to vote
ghostbrain

External


Since: Jun 28, 2003
Posts: 68



(Msg. 2) Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 8:40 am
Post subject: Re: virus alert - "Weeeeee! :)))" claiming to come from Ash Tree [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

On 2004-12-20 03:19:35 -0500, kennett.DeleteThis@visto.com said:

 > I've just received an attachment claiming to come from Ash Tree Press
 > which contains the virus W32.Beagle@mm!zip -- at least that was what my
 > anti virus system called it. Its header is "Weeeeee! Smile))"
 >
 > Rick

I feel like I'm chasing Rick around.

It's more likely that the virus is from someone else with ASH TREE's
address in his or her address book. EVERYBODY should make sure their
anti-virus software is up-to-date. It could be anyone (except me or
Jessica, who have Macs...gloat gloat).
--
nomis

<a style='text-decoration: underline;' href="http://www.oozingbrain.com" target="_blank">http://www.oozingbrain.com</a><!-- ~MESSAGE_AFTER~ -->

 >> Stay informed about: virus alert - "Weeeeee! :)))" claiming to come from Ash Tree 
Back to top
Login to vote
ashtree2

External


Since: Jul 05, 2003
Posts: 269



(Msg. 3) Posted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 1:40 pm
Post subject: Re: virus alert - "Weeeeee! :)))" claiming to come from Ash Tree [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

It didn't originate here. Virus protection is current and active, and
a full system scan on both systems shows us clean.

I get around 50 infected messages a day, some from folk I know, some
from folk on this list. If I posted a warning about every one, I'd
never get anything else done. A message originating from Ash-Tree will
have a hyphen between Ash and Tree at very least.

Christopher

--- In All_Hallows.RemoveThis@yahoogroups.com, "rickkenau" <rickkenau@y...>
wrote:
 >
 > I've just received an attachment claiming to come from Ash Tree Press
 > which contains the virus W32.Beagle@mm!zip -- at least that was what
 > my anti virus system called it. Its header is "Weeeeee! Smile))" It's
 > possible something has got into Ash Tree's address book.
 >
 > Rick


On 20 Dec 2004 00:19:35 -0800, kennett.RemoveThis@visto.com wrote:

 >I've just received an attachment claiming to come from Ash Tree Press
 >which contains the virus W32.Beagle@mm!zip -- at least that was what my
 >anti virus system called it. Its header is "Weeeeee! Smile))"
 >
 >Rick<!-- ~MESSAGE_AFTER~ -->
 >> Stay informed about: virus alert - "Weeeeee! :)))" claiming to come from Ash Tree 
Back to top
Login to vote
Display posts from previous:   
   Book Forums (Home) -> Fiction -> Ghost Fiction All times are: Pacific Time (US & Canada) (change)
Page 1 of 1

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



[ Contact us | Terms of Service/Privacy Policy ]